Skip to content
January 23, 2011 / Greg Vaughn

Favorite Photos of 2010

aspen tree trunks

Aspen trees, eastern Washington.

I’ve been inspired by the blogs of a number of photographers who’ve recently posted their top photos for 2010, so decided to add my own to the mix. Most of the photographers post either landscape and scenic photos or travel photography. I do a mixture of both – something to do with being a Gemini perhaps? – so my selection of favorites is a combination of nature images and snaps from my travels this past year.

 

 

man walking on beach in Dubai

Walking on the beach, Dubai

Early in the year, I had the opportunity to visit Dubai, which is about as far as you can get – both literally and figuratively – from Eugene, Oregon. Not exactly my kind of place, but it certainly was interesting to see what can be accomplished or enjoyed when money is no object. Going out one morning to get a photo of the place I was staying – the Burj Al Arab – I spotted this man walking on the beach and was attracted to the simplicity of the scene. And was reminded that oft times the simplest pleasures are the best.

 

young Buddhist monks on their morning procession

Buddhist monks, Chiang Mai, Thailand

Dubai was followed by a trip to Thailand, where on another morning outing I photographed these young Buddhist monks. In a daily ritual, the monks form a procession, walking from their monastery through the Huay Kaew neighbhorhood of Chiang Mai, offering prayers and chants in exchange for their day’s food. I really enjoyed visiting a bunch of temples and street markets in Bangkok and Chiang Mai, and can easily see why Thailand is a perennial favorite destination for world travelers.

 

Mount Baker and reflection in an alpine tarn

Mount Baker and alpine tarn, Park Butte Trail, Washington

Much of my time this year was spent working on a book about Washington, and I made a number of trips, criss-crossing the Evergreen State from Cape Disappointment to Spokane and Bellingham to the Palouse. Lots of wonderful scenery, but most enjoyable for me were the backpacking trips in the Cascade Mountains. Incredible vistas of Mount Baker, The Enchantments, Mount Adams and North Cascades National Park. Washington is a hiker’s paradise and I can’t wait to get back for more.

 

 

Deception Island and sunset sky
Deception Island and sunset over the Salish Sea

The Washington Coast offers some pretty decent views for photographers, too. Okay, major understatement there. Nice combination of long, sandy beaches, tiny coves, forested headlands and the myriad islands of Puget Sound and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. Got lucky one night with the gorgeous sunset above, taken from Rosario Head overlooking Deception Pass.

 

 

sunrise at Waimanalo Beach

Waimanalo Beach sunrise, Windward Oahu

Got lucky another time during a trip to Hawaii with this sunrise at Waimanalo Beach on Oahu. Used to live not far from this beach, and I always make it a point to watch the sunrise from somewhere on the windward side of the island during my return visits.

 

 

Rhododendron flowering in forest

Rhododendron, Willamette National Forest

Those who know me know that I’m an unabashed lover of and booster for my home state of Oregon. Coast, mountains, rivers, forests, deserts and lakes – there’s a fantastic wealth of beautiful places here to see, photograph, experience and enjoy. I’m particularly enamored of the lush old-growth forests on the western slopes of the Cascade Mountains. Found this almost perfect rhododendron blooming along the McKenzie River Trail early in the summer.

Please follow this link and have a look at some more of my Favorite Photos of 2010. Click on the Slideshow link for the best view.

And check out the top photos for 2010 from some of my photographer friends:

For even more, see the list compiled by JMG-Galleries

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Diane (Howard) Meftagh / Jan 24 2011 8:05 am

    Greg, great photos! I enjoyed waking up this morning to them with my coffee.
    Very nice to see how you are doing…..you were such a good friend, “back in the day”.

Leave a comment